The unincorporated community of story is just 20 minutes south of Sheridan. Nestled in the pines along the banks of Piney Creek, this bedroom community has long been a favorite summer retreat of locals and visitors alike. Abundant wildlife and peaceful scenery are a part of everyday life in this little hamlet. Hiking and ATV enthusiasts often use Story as a base camp for some top rated trails.
The fish hatchery grounds in Story are open year round and the visitor center is open from April 15 to September 15. Educational displays can be viewed at the center and the hatchery ponds show lake trout hatching in April and May.
Just a short drive to the south of Story is the historical site Fort Phil Kearny. The fort was built in 1866 and was one of just three military outposts along the Bozeman Trail. The structure was abandoned in 1868 under the terms of the Treaty of Fort Laramie and burned to the ground soon after. In the summer of 1999, the staff and some volunteers began archeology digs as the first step in the project of reconstructing a portion of the old fort. Located at the site is a museum and bookstore. Each year, Bozeman Trail Days is held the latter part of July drawing historians from all over the US.
Story was first platted by a horse trader, Marshall Wolf, who was going to name the town after himself but was dismayed to find that Wolf, WY already existed nearby. The town was instead named after Charles B. Story, a rancher who was instrumental in getting a post office established – the first building in what had until then been a town made up of only tent structures.
Don't Miss: The Bozeman Trail Days features tours of the historic battles and forts and living history camp held annually in mid June.
Sheridan Travel & Tourism
Chamber of Commerce