Shoshone National Forest

  • Category > Parks and Nature
  • City Cody
  • Region Northeast Wyoming
808 Meadow Lane Ave
Cody, WY 82414-4553
Get Directions
  • Overview
  • Deals (0)
  • Events (0)

The Shoshone National Forest is the nation's first national forest. It is a forest for recreation--the Shoshone has 1,389 miles of non-motorized trails, 306 miles of snowmobile trails, 48 miles of cross country ski trails, 32 campgrounds, 11 picnic grounds, 18 permitted lodges, and 28 trailheads. 

Shoshone National Forest's mountain ranges comprise of rugged peaks, steep cliffs, high alpine plateaus and meadows blanketed with wildflowers. It is a forest of distinct physical features--from Wyoming's highest point, Gannett Peak, to the only designated Wild and Scenic River in Wyoming, the Clarks Fork of the Yellowstone. 

Shoshone has five designated wilderness areas totaling 1.4 million acres. It is a forest for wildlife--home to about 335 native wildlife species, including grizzly and black bears, gray wolves, deer, elk, moose, pronghorn, bison, Yellowstone cutthroat trout, and a host of smaller animals and birds. The Shoshone is home to more bighorn sheep than any other national forest.